NAIDOC Week 2020 Event in Makassar

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

NAIDOC Week 2020 Event in Makassar

0 Comment
827 Views

Join Rumata’ Artspace and the Australian Consulate-General Makassar for a virtual NAIDOC Week celebration of the historical links between Makassan trepangers and the Yolŋu People of north-eastern Arnhem Land through a webinar discussion and virtual art exhibition.

The webinar will explore shared Makassar-Yolŋu history dating back to the 1700s and feature a keynote lecture by Professor Lynette Russell AM (Chief Investigator, Laureate Global Encounters, Monash Indigenous Studies Centre), presentations by Lily Yulianti Farid PhD (Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Monash Indigenous Studies Centre) and Fikri Yathir (In-country Research Assistant, Monash Indigenous Studies Centre) and Andi Buyung Saputra (Aliansi Masyarakat Adat Sulawesi Selatan or South Sulawesi Indigenous Peoples’ Alliance).

The virtual art exhibition will showcase the artwork of Makassan and Yolŋu artists through a virtual tour of Rumata’ Artspace in Makassar (hosted by Febri Hasanah) and the Buku-Larrŋgay Mulka Art Centre in Yirrkala (hosted by Siena Stubbs), where the audience will learn about the influence of historical trade and maritime cooperation on the artwork of Makassan and Yolŋu artists. Following the virtual tour, a group of Indonesian graphic artists will host an artist conversation session.

Come join us in celebrating NAIDOC WEEK 2020 “Always Was, Always Will Be”

Tuesday, 10 November 2020
Webinar: 15.00 – 17.00 WITA (6:00PM- 8:00PM AEDT)

Virtual Exhibition: 17.00 – 18.00 WITA (8:00PM – 9:00PM AEDT)

The event will be held virtually through Zoom.

Thank you and see you in virtual room.

Details

Date:
November 10, 2020
Time:
3:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Organizer

Rumata’ Artspace and MIWF
Website:
www.rumata.or.id dan www.makassarwriters.com